O. Henry, Vol. 1 - Reformation of Calliope Clip

The O. Henry Playhouse - The Complete Series, Vol. 1 is now in house and shipping!

The long lost television anthology series stars Thomas Mitchell and spotlights the works of one of America's most beloved short story authors. Dozens of well-known guest stars appear in Volume 1's 13 engrossing episodes such as Ernest Borgnine, Charles Bronson, DeForest Kelley and Denver Pyle.

Below is a clip from the episode The Reformation of Calliope which features Ernest Borgnine, Dick Foran, Beverly Garland and Jan Merlin.

Pick up your copy today!


Now available for the first time on DVD from ClassicFlix—a long lost television anthology series spotlighting the works of one of America's most beloved short story authors!

William Sydney Porter, better known by his pen name O. Henry, is celebrated the world over for his humorous writing style which is also noted for its surprise endings. His works include such classics as “The Gift of the Magi” and “The Ransom of Red Chief”; and he was also the creator of The Cisco Kid!

Executive producers Jack J. Gross and Philip N. Krasne (Big Town, The Lone Wolf) brought O. Henry's prolific output to TV screens in 1957 with The O. Henry Playhouse. Academy Award-winning actor Thomas Mitchell (Stagecoach) portrays writer O. Henry himself in each episode as he describes his current story-in-progress to his publisher and others he interacts with.

Directed by such Hollywood veterans as Bernard Girard and George Waggner, The O. Henry Playhouse - The Complete Series, Vol. 1 contains thirteen half-hour episodes that shine the spotlight on such timeless tales as "The Reformation of Calliope" and "Two Renegades”; and also features a glittering array of movie and TV stars in Ernest Borgnine, Charles Bronson, John Carradine, Peggie Castle, Jackie Coogan, Ellen Corby, Johnny Crawford, Jim Davis, Dick Foran, Mona Freeman, Hans Conried, Lawrence Dobkin, Beverly Garland, Alan Hale, Jr., Louis Hayward, Jeanne Cooper, DeForest Kelley and Gerald Mohr.

EPISODES (Presented in original broadcast order):

  • The Reformation of Calliope
  • Man About Town
  • Sam Plunkett's Promise
  • Two Renegades
  • Marionettes
  • Fog in Santone
  • Hearts and Hands
  • Blackjack Bargainer
  • The World and the Door
  • The Guilty Party
  • A Ramble in Aphasia
  • Fourth in Salvador
  • After Twenty Years